DELL XPS M1730

SLI Graphic Issues

« Older   Newer »
Radot
view post Posted on 19/2/2008, 13:59

Hi all,

I am the prowd owner of a new Dell XPS 1730 specced up with 2.4G Core2 Processors, Ageis Graphic accelerator, 4Gb RAM & 2 x 7200rpm 200Gb Hardrives, it came with the Nvidia 8700 GT. I could not expect any less then a laptop that would just "scream" through any graphic torture... ;)

I have been using it for 2 months and play well known MMO World of Warcraft. Graphics are superb not to say unbelievable compared to what I was getting with my previous Dell inspiron 8500 with P3-2.2Gb, 64Mb graphics card & 512Mb RAM. That is.... when it works! Grrrrrrrrrr.... Paid $4500 for a laptop (was tossing between my XPS and a Suzuki Bandit 1200cc...) it wasn't to go through all the following probs:

It appears that when i try to enable SLI from the NVidia UI, the trouble starts... I did after finding that maybe after all i wasn't getting enough performance in game... the Core2 processors just load and jam on 100% and everything falls apart... following that attempt, nothing reverts back to normal again. I did communicate with Dell Support which made me re-install BIOS update and video drivers which appeared to have fixed the problem... that's until i realised that i was not making any use of the SLI technology! The BIOS update had simply reset the lot back to NOT using SLI when in fact, the NVidia UI recommend to enable it specifically for gaming... Grrrrrr again, back to square one from a month ago!

Has any XPS owner gone through similar problems and is there a known fix to this issue? I yet have to communicate =again= with Dell but i am curious to find out if anyone has similar probs.

Thank you for your answers/help if any...

Radot

Petengy
view post Posted on 19/2/2008, 20:12

Hi Radot